Organizing Committee

Ana Guerreiro

Guest Lecturer and researcher on criminology and gender issues. She is currently a doctoral student in Criminology at the Faculty of Law of the University of Porto (FDUP) and guest lecturer at University of Maia and at Faculty of Law of the University of Porto. She is author and co-author of several scientific publications.

Marco Ribeiro Henriques

Guest Assistant Professor at the Polytechnic Institute of Viseu of the Miguel Torga Higher Institute (Coimbra), and researcher in the area of public law, notably human rights, prison systems and gender responsive public policies integrating international and national R&D projects. 

He has a degree and a master’s in law and is currently a doctoral candidate in the area of public law at NOVA School of Law, Universidade Nova de Lisboa. He currently chairs the General Assembly Board of the Observatório os Direitos Humanos, of which he has also been an associate member since its constitution. He was also the coordinator of the Group of Jurists of the Portuguese Section of Amnesty International. He is author and co-author of several scientific publications and has published several works in Portugal and abroad in the area of human rights and social inclusion.

Sérgio Grossi

Researcher at the Centre for the Study of Violence at the University of São Paulo, and a visiting scholar at the Cambridge Institute of Criminology, conducting an international comparison of the best experiences of education, reintegration, and prison.

He has a Ph.D. in Educational Sciences from the University of Padua and UFF of Rio de Janeiro, a master’s degree in Design and Management of Educational Interventions in Social Distress at University of Bologna, partially performed at the Paris X University.

His career reflects his strong passion for research, education, and social innovation. He has spent over ten years researching and working with several social enterprises and NGOs, prisoners, young offenders, people experiencing homelessness and mental distress, asylum seekers, sex workers, and victims of human trafficking. As a result of his academic and professional skills developed in these experiences, the Italian National Authority for the Rights of Persons Detained or Deprived of their Liberty and the Penitentiary and Prison Monitoring Committee of Colombia have appointed him as an expert, and the Bolivian Generational Educational Sociocultural Space has awarded honorary membership to him.

Scientific Committee

Alessandra Prado

Federal University of Bahia

André Lamas Leite

University of Porto

Adriana Silva

University of Minho

Ana Carneiro

University of Maia

André Paulino Piton

University of Maia

António Carlos Silva

Catholic University of Salvador

Ana Isabel Sani

University Fernando Pessoa

Ana Roseira

University of Coimbra

António Pedro Dores

University Institute of Lisbon

Bruno Reynaud Sousa

University of Minho

Carmen Hein de Campos

University Center of Ritter dos Reis

Cristiane de Souza Reis

Federal University Fluminense

Catarina Fróis

University Institute of Lisbon

Daniela Castilhos

Instituto Politécnico de Leiria

Fabiola Miranda Pérez

University Alberto Hurtado

Fabricia Milanezi

Santa Casa de Misericórdia of Vitória School of Science

Fátima Rodrigues

University of Porto

Florita Cuhanga Telo

Catholic University of Angola

Gabriela Mesquita Borges

University of Minho

Gilda Santos

University of Porto

Gustavo Ferreira Santos

Catholic University of Pernambuco

Gustavo Paschoal Teixeira de Castro Oliveira

Federal University of Tocantins State

Isabel Dias

University of Porto

Isabelle Rocha Valença Figueiredo

Escola Superior do Ministério Público do Estado do Tocantins

João Luiz Lessa Neto

Pontifical University of São Paulo

João Proença Xavier

University of Salamanca

Joana Almeida

University of Coimbra

Jorge Quintas

University of Porto

José A. Brandariz

University of Coruña

José Vandilo dos Santos

Federal University of Tocantins

Márcia Esteves de Calazans

Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul

Maria Angela Rosa Soares

University Vila Velha of Espírito Santo

Marcos César Alvarez

University of São Paulo

Maria Barranco

Catholic University of Salvador

Maria João Escudeiro

University of Lisbon

Manuela Ivone Cunha

University of Minho

Maria João Leote de Carvalho

Portuguese Catholic University

María Acale Sánchez

University of Cádiz

Miriam Pina

University of Porto

Olga Souza Cruz

University of Maia

Pedro Sousa

University of Porto

Paulo Fraga

Federal University of Juiz de Fora

Paulo Soares

Federal University of Tocantins State

Rúben Miranda

University of Santiago de Compostela

Rita Faria

University of Porto

Rosa Tomé

Superior Institute Miguel Torga

Raquel Matos

Portuguese Catholic University

Sílvia Gomes

Nottingham Trent University

Sandra Fernandes

Portucalense University Infante D. Henrique

Susana Costa

University of Coimbra

Sónia Caridade

University of Fernando Pessoa

Vanessa Ribeiro Simon Cavalcanti

Federal University of Bahia

Vera Mónica da Silva Duarte

University of Maia

Wladimir Cerveira de Alencar

University of Salamanca

Wladimir Brito

Portucalense University Infante D. Henrique


Institutional Partners